Bake your own!

In my last post I wrote about bringing your own bag to the bakery to buy baked goods. But our local bakeries don’t carry all the varieties of bread I want. So, I bake my own! Making your own food is a theme that will come up often here on Don’t Mess with Dahab because it’s one of the easiest ways to reduce waste. Plus, it’s often tastier and more nutritious.

One of my favorite breads – tortillas – are produced locally by King M, but of course they come packaged in plastic. I used to buy these when I lived in Cairo but they weren’t available in Dahab when I moved here years ago. And maybe they still aren’t. I don’t know because I’ve been making my own for so long now I haven’t searched for them. 

tortillas

I use this recipe from Homesick Texan, using half all-purpose flour (purchased in bulk in my own bag) and half whole wheat (purchased in a paper sack). It’s a very simple recipe. These tortillas are perfect for burritos! Yum.

bean burritos

 

And although you can often purchase crackers from the bakery in your own bag, they are not always available so I have started to bake my own using this recipe as a starting point. I’ve been putting a homemade dukkah mix on mine, but you can create whatever type of crackers you are craving!

crackers

Are there any baked goods you make yourself instead of purchasing them? Do you have favorite recipes to share?

Refuse ~ Reduce ~ Reuse ~ Recycle

 

 

Leave a Reply

